Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards Nomination Form

Alumni Awards Reception Registration

Five alumni awards are available to be presented annually by the OU College of Pharmacy Alumni Affairs Board. The Alumni Association calls for award nominations each February and selection is made during the Spring Alumni Affairs Board meeting. The awards acknowledge those alumni who have made important contributions to the profession and who exemplify the values of the College. Anyone can submit a nomination for these awards, as long as the nominee matches the criteria. For each nominee, please include their name, graduation year, email, mailing address, and the reason behind your nomination. It is important to specify how the nominee meets the stated criteria. Submissions must be received by March 31.

Please submit your nomination(s) through your choice of:
1. Alumni Awards Nomination Form link (above)
2. Email to
3. Fax to (405) 271-3830
4. Mail to P.O. Box 26901, CPB 104D, Oklahoma City, OK 73126

  • Distinguished Alumni Award

    Alumni recipients will be selected from alumni nominees for accomplishment throughout the span of a career. Any of the following criteria may be used in submitting nominations:

    • Outstanding accomplishments in the profession considered to be distinctive and pioneering in nature and scope;
    • Leadership in the profession through service in local, state, or national pharmacy organizations, or in organizations active in the promotion of pharmacy;
    • Leadership in local, state, or national government, community civic organizations or service groups;
    • Service to The University of Oklahoma through commitment of time or other resources aiding the development of the College of Pharmacy or the broader university.

    Latest Recipients

    2023 Russell B. Melchert
    2022 Shannon Lowe
    2021 Song Lavalais
    2020 Todd W. Canada
    2019 Mathew Griffin
    2018  Terry Cothran 
    2017  Cynthia J. Boyle  
    2016  Robert Standridge  
    2015  B. Douglas Hoey     
    2014  Tom R. Webber     
    2013  Marshall Scantlin 
    2012  Travis Watts     
    2011  Mark St. Cyr    
    2009  Loyd V. Allen

  • E. Blanche Sommers Alumni Award

    Alumni recipients will be selected from alumni nominees who have made important contributions to the profession and community within five (5) years of graduation. The award is presented to recent graduates of The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy in accord with the interests of Dr. E. Blanche Sommers in fostering the development of and recognizing the early achievements of potentially outstanding future practitioners.

    Latest Recipients

    2022 Jonathan Little
    2021 Clark Bishop                                        
    2020 Selma Alami
    2019 Chelsea K. Price
    2018  Naomi Kozlowski
    2017  Christian Bnasky
    2016  Wei Cheng Yuet
    2015  David George     
    2013 Jamie Farley   
    2012  Dared Price     
    2011  Melissa Abbott     
    2011  Emily Borders
    2009  Jacqueline King     
    2008  Joshua Sheffield    

  • Ralph D. Bienfang Outstanding Practitioner Award

    This award will be given to a pharmacist in Oklahoma who has exemplified the characteristics of Professor Ralph D. Bienfang - service orientation, sensitivity to human needs, ability to communicate verbally and in writing, ability to inspire fellow practitioners, leadership within the profession, and a broad base of interests and accomplishments within and outside of pharmacy - over a period of time. Individuals nominated could be graduates of any school or college of pharmacy.

    Latest Recipients

    2023 Lee Munoz
    2022 Dani Lynch
    2021 Jennifer Thackray
    2020 Gene A. Lafitte
    2019 Kevin R. Rich
    2018  Lonny Wilson
    2017  Patricia McAlester Witt
    2016  Bill Osborn
    2015  Nancy Kay LaPorte     
    2014  Nancy Nesser     
    2013  Laura Petty     
    2012  E. Scott Henley     
    2011  Mary Kay Vaughan     
    2009  Tommy Bishop

  • Outstanding Young Alumni Award

    Alumni recipients are to be selected from alumni nominees who have made important contributions to the profession of pharmacy within ten (10) years of graduation.

    Latest Recipients

    2023 Bled Tanoe
    2022 Ardath Plauche
    2020 James M. Haley
    2019 Rebecca Nahleen Lopez
    2018  Leigh Ann (Anderson) Peek
    2017  Thomas Ross Clark
    2015  Mai Phillips     
    2014  Bethany Holderread     
    2013  Jack Drakeford     
    2012  Rebecca (Becky) Schmidt     
    2011  Rahi M. Bigdely     
    2009  Joshua Sheffield

  • Special Service Citation

    This citation is given only on rare occasion to recognize an individual who has made extraordinary contributions of exceptional quality to the College of Pharmacy or to the pharmacy profession and leading to events widely recognized as seminal and of such merit as to warrant special honor and recognition.

    Latest Recipients

    2023 JoLaine Draugalis
    2021 James R. Allen
    2019 Troy A. Simons
    2018  Sandy Warner
    2017  Robin V. Thomas
    2016  Shellie Keast
    2012  Marguerite Jones Lane
    2011  Shauna Peterson     
    2008  Jack Munn     
    2008  Vincent Dennis     
    2006  Thomas Kupiec