Students Win National Business Plan Competition

Posted on December 06, 2019

Four students from OU College of Pharmacy came in first place in the National Community Pharmacists Association Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition, held Oct. 26, in San Diego. Team members included Hayley Sewell, Jennifer Walling, Jonathan Little and Victoria Boudiette. The teams faculty advisors were Eric Johnson, Dr. Katherine O'Neal and Dr. Justin Wilson.

The students presented their plan, "Fusion Pharmacy: Where retail pharmacy and infusion services collide," in front of 1,000 people and national  judges. They were awarded $3,000 for the OU NCPA student chapter, along with $3,000 in the dean's name to promote independent pharmacy at the college. They also received complimentary registration, travel and lodging to the Multiple Location Conference (formerly the Independent Chain Conference) in February 2020.

The goal of this competition is to motivate pharmacy students to create the blueprint necessary for either buying an existing independent community pharmacy or to develop a new pharmacy. OU College of Pharmacy offers an elective class PHAR 7703 (Pharmacy Business and Entrepreneurship) in the fall semester to cover all the components needed for such a business plan. Students then divide into teams and work together on their plans.