JoLaine R. Draugalis, R.Ph., Ph.D., FAPhA, FASHP

Dean and David Ross Boyd Professor; Phil C. and Fern Ashby Endowed Dean's Chair

Dean's Office

Phone (405) 271-6485

Fax (405) 271-3830

Office CPB 133



Pharmaceutical education program design, administration, and evaluation. Administrators in all colleges of pharmacy face challenges in the day-to-day operation and in planning activities for their institutions. My research program is concerned with determining how resources, curricula, and academic programs are administered in pharmaceutical education as well as pursuing the definition, evaluation, and reward structures of the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Education & Experience

Ph.D. in Pharmacy (Administrative and Behavioral Sciences)

The University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

MEd. in Educational Psychology

The University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

B.S. in Pharmacy

Ferris State University, Big Rapids, MI

with Distinction

Honors & Awards

Professional Awards


Gloria Niemyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

American Pharmaceutical Association, 1997

Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award

AACP, 1998

Leicester and Kathryn Sherrill Creative Teaching Award

University of Arizona Foundation, 1998

Carnegie Scholar (Pew National Fellowship Program)

Carnegie Academy for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (CASTL), 2000-2001

Fellow, Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science

American Pharmacists Association, 2001

Fellow, Practitioner Recognition Program

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, 2002

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Board of Directors, 2004-2006; President, 2004-2005

KE/Merck Vanguard Leadership Award

Kappa Epsilon Pharmacy Fraternity, 2006

Research Achievement Award in the Pharmaceutical Sciences

American Pharmacists Association, 2009

Honorary Doctorate of Business and Industry

Ferris State University (Big Rapids, MI), 2012

National Leadership Award

Phi Lambda Sigma and Procter & Gamble Pharmaceuticals, 2013

Academic Awards

Rufus A. Lyman Award for "Most Outstanding Paper" in AJPE

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy


Searle Fellowship in Pharmacy Faculty Mentor Award (two 1st place, six 2nd place, one 3rd place from 1990-1997)

G.D. Searle & Company


Basic Science Educator of the Year Award

University of Arizona College of Pharmacy (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 2004, 2007)


Professional Achievement Award

University of Arizona Alumni Association


Inaugural Henry and Phyllis Koffler Prize in Teaching

University of Arizona


Hall of Fame Award

University of Arizona, Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society


David Ross Boyd Professorship

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center


Publications & Presentations

1 2 3 4 > >>
  • Medina M S, Autry M T, Draugalis J R, Neely S B, Shreffler M R, Hausner S B. Longitudinal outcomes of an elective academic and administrative advanced pharmacy practice experience. Am J Pharm Educ. In Press
  • Erstad B L, Oxnam M G, Miller T P, Draugalis J R. Reflections on implementing an online faculty review system: issues and opportunities. . Am J Pharm Educ. In Press
  • George D L, Smith M J, Draugalis J R, Tolma E L, Keast S, Wilson J B. Community pharmacists' beliefs regarding improvement of Star Ratings scores using the Theory of Planned Behavior. JAPhA. 2018; 58 : 21-29
  • George D L, Smith M J, Draugalis J R, Tolma E L, Keast S, Wilson J B. The use of think-aloud protocols to identify a decision-making process of community pharmacists aimed at improving CMS Star Ratings scores. Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy. 2018; 14 : 262-268
  • Buckley C F, Miller M J, Draugalis J R. Developing and improving residency research training. Am J Health-Syst Pharm. 2017 : 152-161
  • 1 2 3 4 > >>