About the College

Loyd E. Harris Lecture Series

Previous Speakers Year
Barry L. Carter, Pharm.D.
Professor & Associate Head for Research, Dept. of Family Medicine
Patrick E. Keefe Professor in Pharmacy
Dept. of Pharmacy Practice & Science
College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa
Cedar Rapids, IA
Gary G. Meadows, Ph.D.
Dorothy O. Kennedy Distinguished Professor
Associate Dean for Graduate Education & Scholarship
College of Pharmacy, Washington State University
Pullman, WA
Mathew L. Thakur, Ph.D.
Professor, Radiology & Radiation Oncology
Director, Laboratories of Radiopharmaceutical Research and Molecular Imaging
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Debra E. Bessen, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
New York Medical College
Valhalla, New York
Milap Nahata, Pharm.D., M.S.
Professor and Division Chair,
Pharmacy Practice and Administration, College of Pharmacy;
Professor of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine, College of Medicine, and Associate Director, Medical Center
Department of Pharmacy
Ohio State University
Jean Nappi, Pharm.D, FCCP, BCPS (AQ Cardiology)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences
South Carolina College of Pharmacy- MUSC Campus
Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, Medical Univ. of South Carolina
Binghe Wang, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, Georgia Research Alliance
Eminent Scholar in Drug Discovery
Georgia Cancer Coalition Distinguished Cancer Scientist
Atlanta, Georgia
Steven Belinsky, Ph.D.
Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Allan H. Conney, Ph.D.
William M. and Myrle W. Garbe Professor of Cancer and Leukemia Research
Department of Chemical Biology, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Robert J. Miller, R.Ph., FASCP
President, American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP)
Vince A. Fischetti, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Laboratory of Bacterial Pathogenesis,
Rockefeller University, New York
Gunda Georg, Ph.D.
University Distinguished Professor
Department of Medicinal Chemistry
University of Kansas
Ilene Gipson, Ph.D.
Professor of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
Robert D. Sindelar, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Pharmacy
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, Canada
David T. Curiel, M.D., Ph.D. 2004
Julie Johnson, PharmD 2003
A.M. Chakrabarty, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago
Victoria F. Roche, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Dean for Education and Faculty Development
School of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions
Creighton University, Omaha, Nebraska
Lee Limbird, Ph.D.
Associate Chancellor for Research
University of Vanderbilt Medical Center
Henri R. Manasse, Jr. Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
American Society of Health System Pharmacists
Palmer W. Taylor, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
School of Medicine, University of California at San Diego
James R. Yankaskas, M.D.
School of Medicine, The University of North Carolina
Philippe Roussel, M.D.
Insserm, France
R. Sudhir Sundaresan, M.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
Carol B. Bausbaum, Ph.D.
University of California at San Francisco
Pi-Wan Cheng, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Mary C. Rose, Ph.D.
Children's National Medical Center, Washington, D.C
Subash C. Basu, Ph.D.
University of Notre Dame
Inder K. Vijay, Ph.D.
University of Maryland
V.P. Bhavanandan, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Thomas Boat, M.D.
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Loyd E. Harris

Loyd E. Harris , a 1920, 1922 and 1924 graduate of The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, had a distinguished career in pharmacy. He served as a professor of pharmacy (1926-37) and later as Dean (1963-70) of The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy. He played a key role role in the implementation of the "five year" program in pharmacy, as well as the decision to move the college to the Health Sciences Center. Dr. Harris served as Dean Emeritus until his death in September 2000. Dean Harris also was recognized for the development of continuing pharmaceutical education in Oklahoma. Through his generosity and love for our college, the Loyd E. Harris endowed lectureship was established. Widely recognized experts are invited to the college to present to the students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends current information and ideas that shape the profession of pharmacy.

Dean Harris also endowed a scholarship for the college, establishing the Loyd and Maurine Harris Scholarship in Pharmaceutical Sciences. This scholarship will help graduate students to become leaders in pharmacy for years to come.