Current Students

SNPhA - Student National Pharmaceutical Association

SNPhA Mission

SNPhA is an educational service association of minority students who are concerned about pharmacy and health care related issues, and the poor minority representation in pharmacy and other health-related professions.

The purpose of SNPhA is to plan, organize, coordinate and execute programs geared toward the improvement for the health, educational, and social environment of the community.


  1. To offer student members the opportunity to develop leadership and professional skill.
  2. To educate students about and promote active participation in national health care issues.
  3. To develop the role of the minority health professional as a vital member of the health care team.
  4. To develop within communities a positive image of minority health professionals.
  5. To educate communities on better health practices and to increase their awareness and understanding of diseases


The Student National Pharmaceutical Assoication (SNPhA) was founded in 1972 on the campus of Florida A & M University, when Sharon Roquemore (now Sharon Lovick Edwards) and John J. Scrivens organized that first meeting. In addition to the students from Florida A & M University, students from Howard University, Texas Southern University, Xavier University and other schools were in attendance. The meeting participants numbered about one hundred.

Our many years of success are in part due to the outstanding leadership the association has had over the years. Mr. Clinton C. Cunningham was the first Executive Secretary; serving from 1972-1974. Mr. Ralph Arline (deceased) succeeded him from 1974-1979. It was in 1979 that SNPHA gained its first female leader, named Heidi Anderson. For ten Years, she provided impeccable leadership bringing SNPhA into a new era. Continuing in Heidi's footsteps, Dr. Marisa Smith (currently Dr. Marisa Lewis) took the helm in 1989 as Executive Director, and continues in that capacity today.

Over the years, SNPhA has been blessed with several Assistant Executive Directors, who included Dr. Terri Smith-Moore, Dr. Monica Lahoz, and Dr. Patricia Lieveld. Dr. Julie Smith is the current Assistant Executive Director, serving since 1995.